The Big Step

Well, here I go!  As an avid healthy living blog reader for the past 6 months, starting this blog has been in the back of my mind for quite a while.  Technically my first post was last night, but I either deleted it or didn’t save it properly, so I’m starting over right now :)  I thought I’d share a little bit more about myself and what exactly this blog is going to be about!

I’m Peyton, a 20 year old college undergrad majoring in nutrition.  I have plans to become an RD, but I’ve also been toying with the idea of going into research.  I go to a pretty large public research university, so I have been extremely fortunate to have been exposed to this side of the nutrition field, and it is definitely intriguing me to say the least!  I wasn’t always a nutrition major, I actually didn’t decided until the end of last spring semester!  I always knew I wanted to do something health related, but for whatever reason I never even thought of nutrition until midway through my freshman year!  But alas, I know that I have found the perfect fit for me for so many reasons!  The biggest reason being my obnoxious amount of food intolerances…

Obnoxious is not an exaggeration- gluten, dairy, soy, corn (for a while this also included legumes, quinoa, GF oats…).  THANKFULLY through a lot of effort at getting healthy, gluten and soy are the only big issues I still deal with.  I have a few theories as to why things have improved so drastically, but the main thing I have learned is the importance of overall health.  As a college student this can be a little challenging, but I am learning a lot and hope I can share my growing knowledge.  Life is meant to be enjoyed and free of unhealthy habits (and dietary restrictions)!

Leave a Reply

